RSS
Image

Fresh Starts

23 Jan

I’ve been contemplating a WordPress account for ages. AGES. Why I never bothered to get one before is a bit beyond my grasp. It has something to do with a fierce inner critic (you’ll get to meet her eventually), a lack of time and a lack of direction.

I am a writer. I’ve always had a career, but in the background I have always written. For a paycheck and insurance benefits, I am a legal assistant for a small firm in central Illinois that specializes in corporate law. My husband is a lawyer. We are empty nesters, and therefore we have some freedom to explore new places to call home. We visited Costa Rica last year and fell head-over-heels in love with the country, the people, the climate…

We first considered moving out of the cold Midwest a little over two years ago. We decided that a Spanish-speaking island would suit us best since I speak Spanish fairly fluently (my grandma was from Cuba) and at least one of us could correspond with the natives! We visited Puerto Rico, and although I was ready to move there, husband wasn’t quite as sold.

Costa Rica Dreamin’

We are about to visit Costa Rica for a second time, and I have to say that I am more than ready for a fresh start. I’d move there tomorrow if I had my druthers. We’ll  not be so impulsive in our decision though. We need to find out if I have what it takes to be a freelance writer and hubs can find a way to consult in a legal capacity from a remote location. We need to learn the ins and outs of running a bed and breakfast. We need to sell off all of our worldly possessions.

We aren’t planners, per se. But, moving out-of-country and not being within driving distance of our daughter will take a great deal of speculation and a healthy dose of decision-making time. Meanwhile, I need to build up a portfolio, hold on to a job I am only mildly interested in and get rid of all of our excess junk. Couples tend to accumulate a lot of stuff after fifteen years of marriage! Hubs needs to wrap up his affairs with his legal practice. We own a house. Automobiles. Four pets (though daughter has already told us that she wants to adopt one of the kitties if we move). The pups would definitely be beach doggies, but the boa constrictors are so huge in Costa Rica that I can’t justify taking either of the cats. So, so many things to think about!

So, so may opportunities in front of us! How exciting. Scary. Thrilling. Lovely. Cheers to fresh starts!

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Fresh Starts

  1. Cylithria Dubois

    January 23, 2013 at 12:52 am

    Welcome lady to wordpress and the bloggery world. 🙂 Good to have you with us! epic w00t for fresh starts!

     
    • Cheri Nordstrom

      March 31, 2013 at 10:42 am

      Thank you! I’m finally feeling my way around WordPress a little better & learned that I actually have the POWAH to reply to my blog comments! haha Imagine. Happy Camp NaNo, Happy A to Z Challenge, Happy National Poetry Month, Happy April, Easter & Spring, my dahling! See you around the campfire. ❤

       
  2. Sumita Pai

    April 11, 2013 at 4:37 am

    Enjoying your short and sweet posts, Cheri 🙂 More power to ya.

    Four Leaf Clover

     

Leave a Reply

 
