RSS

Big A, Little A, What Begins with A?

01 Apr

Image

 

Aunt Annie’s Alligator, A…a…A.

Actually, all sorts of writerly fun is going on in April! I’ve been assigned to a very quiet cabin at Camp NaNoWriMo, so I should be able to get oodles of writing done! This is a good thing because April is also National Poetry Month. Each day I will honor National Poetry Month with some sort of poetic justice. Not only am I attempting 25,000 words for my Camp NaNo project, celebrating National Poetry Month, but…

I also signed up for the A to Z Blog Challenge, which might seem insane, but well…I never have made any formal declarations regarding my sanity or lack thereof. Since today is brought to you by the Letter A, I will share some fun tidbits with you!

Image

  1. A to Z Blog Challenge became a hit in 2010 due to a random blog post by the organizer, challenging her followers to blog every day in April except Sundays, using a different letter of the alphabet each day as the theme. She got tremendous support and feedback, and when I signed up at the eleventh hour of 2013, I became Blog Entry #1673. I kept seeing my writerly friends tweeting #atozchallenge and there were so many of them, I became intrigued. I was already planning a bunch of posts to show how I was honoring National Poetry Month because I needed an excuse to blog!

  2. Ann is my middle name. It’s a family tradition. My grandma, who was named Aracelia, gave her name to my mother as her middle name (Anny Aracely). My mother gave her name to me in the same fashion (Cheryl Ann–only bill collectors call me Cheryl, by the way). In turn, I gave my name to my daughter (Jolie Cherie). She’s engaged to a wonderful guy…I wonder if she’ll carry on the tradition.

  3. Asparagus is my favorite vegetable. Especially wrapped in Bacon. Mmmmmm. I’ve been low-carbing since January…so far I’ve lost 19 pounds! 14 more to go…I can do this! Bring on the asparagus!!

  4. Abecedarian – A poetic form using alphabetic order to guide the beginning of each line or stanza. (Great example here.)

  5. Acrostic – Another poetic form, a cousin to the abecedarian, if you will, in which the beginning of each line, when read top to bottom will spell out the theme of the poem. Write your own acrostic poem using your name at this fun website.

So many more “A”-listed writing tools to talk about, but I shall save them for another post. Ah, fare-thee-well for now, my amiable friends, Allegory, Alliteration & Analogy!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2013 in Scribbles, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Big A, Little A, What Begins with A?

  1. Dee

    April 1, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    Visiting from over on the a to z challenge. Happy to read your post. 😀 I hope your daughter continues the tradition!

     
    • Cheri Nordstrom

      April 1, 2013 at 9:00 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Dee! 🙂 We’re not in a huge rush for grandbabies, but I think it would a sweet tradition for her to carry on. 🙂 I will have to pop into your blog tonight too. Have fun with the challenge!

       
  2. Kimberly

    April 1, 2013 at 10:35 pm

    19 lbs is awesome! I need to try that low carb diet. 🙂

    You do sound busy! Good luck with all your writing challenges. 🙂

     
    • Cheri Nordstrom

      April 2, 2013 at 12:00 pm

      Thank you for the good wishes!! So far, so good this month. I love low-carbing…I’m not good at counting calories & fat grams & all that other stuff!

       
  3. dot

    April 1, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    Great list of “A” words! And thank you for a new one: “Abecedarian – A poetic form using alphabetic order”.

    Good luck with all the writing this month. It’s not insane to take on all the writing challenges – I’d guess it’s actually a sanity *saver* for you.

     
    • Cheri Nordstrom

      April 2, 2013 at 1:01 pm

      We did these in a writers’ group a few years ago–great fun! We shook things up a bit too, and made every single word begin with the next letter of the alphabet. Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
