RSS

Collage Poetry

03 Apr

Collage Poetry has been fascinating me, because it incorporates two things that make my creative muses happy–art AND writing. Years ago I took a collage & altered book class with a couple of friends, and since then I’ve tried my hand at a handful of collages, but nothing that made me say, “Oooooh, I really should frame this!”

I knew that I wanted the C bit of the A to Z Challenge to be about Collage Poetry, but who knew I’d find sooooo many creative folks out on the web. Wow! What talent!! I wish I could share everyone’s work that I came across, but more than anything, I wanted to show you how easy it is to create your own style of Collage Poetry.

Corinna West creates her poetry collages digitally. She uses “digital photography, spoken word poetry, and Photoshop based collaging techniques to make images that are more than the sum of their parts.”

A different computerish version, even more blog friendly, can be found at Kyle Godfrey’s Blogger site. Just slightly different is Mary Bast’s version of photography with found and classic poetry, some of which can be found at The Pulitzer Remix.

According to Austin Kleon, it’s just as easy as blacking out words you don’t need on a newspaper to create poetry. He has written a book called, Newspaper Blackout, which shares some of the poetry he has created in this way.

How linktastic is this getting? And, I’m just beginning. We’re approaching my very favorite form of the poetry collage arts–the ones that could be found hanging in prestigious art gallery exhibits. It’s where my poems want to live when they grow up!!

Vivian Faith Prescott prints out her poetry, cuts it into stanzas & pastes it to a collaged background.

As someone who keeps art journals, I found these pages by Annie Yu to be breathtaking! Let’s be honest, my poetry would love to live in journals like hers too!!

Image

Mixed media artist, Jess Schneider, uses a variety of techniques to create her stunning poem-art. Some of Charles Henri Ford’s collage poetry can be find in one of my neighboring city’s university’s websites. These pieces date back nearly fifty years!

Could I pretty please with whipped cream & a cherry on top take Sara Naumann’s workshop? Her work is gorgeous! Here is a quick, free tutorial, by Quinn McDonald, if you would like to try your own hand at a poetry collage. No matter which technique inspires you, you’re sure to create a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Carpe diem!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Collage Poetry

  1. lillian888

    April 3, 2013 at 2:42 am

    An intriguing challenge. I don’t write poetry, but one or more of my characters might, and this could come in very handy!

     
    • Cheri Nordstrom

      April 3, 2013 at 8:56 pm

      Nice! Found poetry could really be a lot of fun for you…just cutting words out of magazines & flyers, books, etc. that you find interesting & piecing them together is relaxing too. Good way to unwind after a long day. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to read & comment!

       
  2. helen jameson

    April 3, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    I really enjoyed reading this, and I am itching to try my hand at it! Thank you for sharing. I am also going to show this to my daughter who is an artist. We might collaborate together…my poems and her artistic talent. Happy A to Z to U!

     
    • Cheri Nordstrom

      April 3, 2013 at 11:53 pm

      Thanks for dropping by my blog! I was inspired to create some collage poetry too, especially when I saw all the cool things other people are doing. Should I create anything soon, I’ll post images of my work, provided they aren’t too awful & embarrassing! 😛

       
  3. Paula Kaye

    April 4, 2013 at 12:05 am

    I have never heard of this. But I can imagine how much fun it would be. I have two very talented grand daughters that would find this intriguing.
    http://paulasplace-paula.blogspot.com/

     
    • Cheri Nordstrom

      April 4, 2013 at 7:29 pm

      This would be an awesome project to do with your granddaughters! Have fun!! Thanks for stopping by today. 🙂

       
  4. Shirletta Armstrong

    April 4, 2013 at 11:51 am

    Interesting. I’ve never heard of collage poetry. I think I”m a photographer and a writer, so I should be able to come up with some pretty fun creations! 🙂

    Shirletta @ Shirleyisnotmyname

     
    • Cheri Nordstrom

      April 4, 2013 at 7:32 pm

      Poetry & photography–sounds like you could create some truly beautiful pieces! You could even build poems around your images or vice versa. Have fun experimenting!! 🙂

       
  5. stephscottil

    April 4, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    I LOVE collage. I haven’t done much with that form or art in awhile,but it became my favorite. I love the idea of collage poetry, mixing different artistic mediums. I suppose I’ve even done this before and hadn’t realized it! One of my old favorite methods was to take vintage dress patterns and layer them over photos and art for collage. I used Mod Podge over it.

     
    • Cheri Nordstrom

      April 4, 2013 at 7:44 pm

      I love the mixed media approach to this too! I have several ideas that I hope to put into action this weekend. I’ve been busy cutting out words & images of magazines & hope I have enough to make some interesting found poetry pieces! I love the idea of using vintage dress patterns–I imagine it would act a bit like vellum. Have fun creating your own poetry collages!

       
  6. pennynewell

    August 25, 2014 at 2:33 am

    Cheri, thanks for the follow and for this ranging piece on collage art. You missed Kurt Schwitters and the Dadaists (of which, of course, he was not a part…) So much of Schwitters’s work not only enacts collage techniques, but evokes them- dabble in London Symphony, the Ur-Sonata and his Anna Bloom. We can trace a direct lineage from Austin Kleon to the surrealist treatment of newspapers and print throughout the 1920s. I think you’d enjoy reading some of the Dada manifestos… And isn’t ‘D’ next on this list?!

     
    • Cheri Nordstrom

      August 25, 2014 at 12:47 pm

      I will have to look up Schwitters, but yes! The Dada Movement!! As you can see, I pretty much fell on my face when it came to the blog challenge last year, but I am back for second helpings. Thanks for your thoughtful reply and I will look up the works you mention. I’m enjoying your blog very much–thanks for coming by to visit mine!

       

Leave a Reply

 
