RSS

Frost, Found Poetry, Flailing & Fun

06 Apr

What is it about The Road Not Taken (also sometimes referred to as The Road Less ImageTraveled) that still has people relating to it a hundred years later? Here’s Robert Frost‘s poem, so you can test it out for timelessness yourself:

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
I have lost my poetry! I won’t have time to look for it today, but I will hopefully find it tomorrow! I already talked about Found Poetry in my Collage Poetry entry, but that is really what I plan to do on Sunday…I’m itching to try some found poetry collages! I have all sorts of words and images cut out of magazines and I’m ready to go as soon as I can find the time.
Flailing, oh the flailing. I am just barely treading water with the A to Z Challenge! I’m relatively new to blogging and I didn’t learn about the challenge until last weekend, but I was hoping to stay a day ahead of the curve throughout the month. I started out strong, and now I’m starting to flail! Oh, wail! Writing is supposed to be all about the fun, in my humble opinion. It’s the one part of my life that is normally not stressful. So, look for some more lighthearted posts in the coming days. I’m determined to put the FUN back into this project!

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Frost, Found Poetry, Flailing & Fun

  1. Kimberly

    April 6, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    Thanks for coming over to my blog and saying hi…I’ve finally gotten an opportunity to say hi back. I know what you mean about the blogging troubles–I have been doing a 365 challenge which basically means that I blog everyday. Some days it is SO hard to come up with what to say…just keep at it and it will come 🙂

     
  2. Michael J. Cahill

    April 6, 2013 at 9:07 pm

    Cheri, I adore this poem by Frost. And, sad to say, I had many times heard portions of it quoted but this was my first reading of it. Its crisp, lyrical simplicity makes me want to dash off and purchase a selection of Mr. Frost’s prose. For that divine revelation, I thank you. I smile because this past Saturday I sat in on a blogging workshop by Arlee Bird here in Los Angeles and was told of the A to Z challenge. Monday I signed up and started my first blog. This has been a genuine challenge but I’m holding steady. I very much enjoyed your post and I’ll be back for more. Cheers.

     
  3. dot

    April 9, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    Nice “F” words! And the Frost poem – I interpreted (sign language) that a month ago during the regional and state Poetry Out Loud competitions (along with another 30 or so poems). It’s a nice, conceptual poem to interpret.

    And, wow, I just saw that you’re doing a 365 blogging challenge! Good for you and good luck! That should ingrain the blogging habit. *smile*

     

Leave a Reply

 
