RSS

One Hundred Haiku(s)!

10 Apr

[Note: I had this typed up & ready to go yesterday, but crashed & burned before I posted. Also! Received my broadsides from Guerilla Poetics Project in the mail yesterday, and the first two have already been smuggled!!]

I just learned that the plural of haiku is not haikus…it’s simply still haiku, though it is becoming accepted (at least in America) to use “haikus” to mean more than one poem. Ya learn something new every day!

I bet you’re wondering where the hundred part fits in. Well, let me tell you! Twitter is a fascinating tool. I met a lady from Australia there who challenged herself to sending 100 Pantone postcards all over the world. Thought it was a great idea, so I adapted it to fit a haiku theme. I received a buttercup yellow Pantone card from her that matched the walls in my living room to a tee!

Where will I find 100 people to send haiku cards to? You might be able to help me out there! If you are interested in receiving an original haiku penned by moi, leave me a direct message (& feel free to follow me) on Twitter – @velvetjademuse . Please let me know why you’re DMing me, so I know it’s not spam & leave me a way to contact you for your address. Although I live in the USA, I will send anywhere in the world. If Spanish is your native language, I will even write haiku en espanol! (I could use the practice!!)

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “One Hundred Haiku(s)!

  1. Sumita Pai

    April 11, 2013 at 4:29 am

    Hi ! I would love to receive a Haiku card. Still new to Haiku, would love to read more and receiving a card is something else 🙂 I live in India. Pls visit my blog if you have the time and the inclination. I’m doing the A-Z Blogging Challenge for the first time and am covering trends in Chennai, the city I live in!

    Four Leaf Clover

     
    • Cheri Nordstrom

      April 11, 2013 at 8:45 am

      I would love to send you a haiku card! Please email me your address at cheri.nordstrom [at] aol {dot} com. Thanks for stopping by my blog & I will check yours out after work tonight. 🙂

       
  2. dot

    April 12, 2013 at 2:06 am

    What a great idea, Cheri! And I didn’t know that about plural haiku, either. Yep, there is always something new to be learned it we’re open to receive. *smile*.

     
  3. Janice Heck (@janiceheck)

    April 13, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    Send a Haiku to me, too. I would love it.
    http://www.janiceheck.wordpress.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
